The Desire To Travel

I live in one of the most vibrant and amazing cities in the world – London, and I absolutely love it here, there is always something going on, people to meet and places to see, hell, I have to plan in a night to stay in to save myself from over exhaustion! In no way am I complaining about my life here, I have nothing to complain about, I live in a great part of town, I am surrounded by friends, have a pretty awesome job in the center of town, and am pretty much always busy. But since hitting the two-year mark back in February, I can’t help but feel restless and find myself itching to get away again.

When I moved over here back in 2013, I can’t even explain to you how amazing it felt to finally be able to properly unpack my suitcase and not to have to worry about where I was off to next and for two years it felt amazing. I still absolutely love this city, but I can’t help but feel the need to move again. So much so that I walked into STA travel one day to ask some questions and ended up coming out with a one-way ticket to Australia for the start of next year.

What is it about Third Culture Kids (TCK) who on the one hand crave stability, yet get restless as soon as they find it and end up booking a ticket half way across the world? It is the thrill and excitement that travel brings! I have tried taking that two-week annual leave from work to explore new places, but it just doesn’t cut it – just as you get into the travelling-mode it is time for you to head back to reality.

I have travelled a fair bit in my life, but never have I booked a one-way ticket and planned to give up everything I currently have – until now. I can’t even begin to explain how excited yet, scared I am about this new chapter I will be starting in my life – giving up my job, saying goodbye to my friends and family for who knows how long, and saying goodbye to the life I have built over the past two and a half years. All I can really do at this point is to trust my decision and hope for the best!

I believe TCK’s have a desire within them to explore and do new things. From a young age we learn about being put into new situations, which taught us how to go about getting to know new people. Hello and goodbye’s become almost a regular occurrence – never do they become any easier – but you eventually learn that goodbye isn’t goodbye at all, it is rather a ‘see you later.’

As hard as this can be in some instances where you don’t always have your closest friends nearby, you have them all over the world, giving you the perfect excuse to go and explore these places.

I know I will look to settle down somewhere at some point in my life, but not just yet. There is way too much I still want to do and places I want to explore, and I can’t wait to get on that plane and see what is waiting for me on the other side.

3 thoughts on “The Desire To Travel

  1. Patricia

    Goodluck on your new exciting adventure! 🙂
    I myself won’t be able to do that, I really envy your freedom…
    I love travelling but the freedom you have is not a part of my personality…
    I wish I was as carefree, but I am just afraid of discomfort and change…
    Well done you! Don’t forget to update us with nee journeys!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nomadz

      Thanks so much for your comment Patricia, really means a lot! 🙂
      I honestly never thought I would be the type of person to book myself a one-way ticket somewhere, but a good friend of mine, who has done a fair bit of solo-traveling in the past, used to tell me about how amazing traveling is and how it changes you as a person. Her stories have stuck with me and in the past months something within me clicked and I feel that if I don’t do it now, I never will, and the last thing I want is to regret not doing it later on. If I can do it, I am sure you can do it too 🙂 I will definitely keep you updated!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Patricia

        That really sounds amazing! And I know if I really wanted to, I can… I even think my husband and I should do it before we have a baby on the way… You just gave me a massive brilliant idea! thanks for the inspiration!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

